Hi there

Yes, it is what you think it is.

How I hate these introductory posts. But since I’m about to write a review, I should let you know who I am.  You know, in case you’ve never heard of me.

I’m a mother, and a writer, and a scientist, and let’s be honest, a bit of a geek.  I inveigled Cassie into letting me join her review blog, because I think it’s a great idea, and I’d like to have somewhere to post book reviews.

I always put two spaces after a full stop.  I can’t help myself.  I learned to type on a typewriter, and back then, there was such an excess of spaces in the world, they threatened to overrun the vast desert areas where they had been stored for safekeeping and swallow the world.

It was only by dint of superior effort by two-spacers like me, that the excess was consumed.  We saved the world, and we’re proud of it.

But now, typically, the politicians are calling foul and blaming US for the current space deficit!  It wasn’t our fault.  We were told that this was a threat to the health of everyone on the planet, and we did our best, typing until our thumbs were callused and lumpy and our little fingers misshapen with the effort.  And now we’re told that two spaces is excessive, and that we are only allowed to use one.

When you’ve been around in the world as long as I have, you will realise that this is life.  It’s all about cycles, about ebb and flow.  One generation’s relaxing smoke is another generation’s cancer stick.  So swings the world.

I think this post has gotten away from me.

Anyway, hi.  This is me.  Nice to meet you.

Leave a Reply

