Fractured Light Blog Tour

I’m thrilled to be taking part in the Blog Tour for Fractured Light, by Rachel McClellan, which is being released by Cedar Fort Publishing in February 2012. I picked up my copy through NetGalley because I thought the cover was really eye catching, and I hadn’t read any books about Auras:

Llona Reese is used to living on the run. After the Vykens killed her parents, she knew they would eventually come for her too. But she never felt ready to face them, until now. Defying the Auran Council and everything she’s been taught, Llona must learn to use her power over light as a weapon if she wants to survive. 

There are a lot of things to like about this book: the writing is solid, the premise is interesting (Aura’s, and a new, different kind of vampire type creature!) and the characters are pretty great.

I really liked Llona. I appreciated that she had some valid struggles – her parents are dead and her legal guardian is an uncle who is barely ten years older than her and still wallowing in grief over the loss of his brother. She has these abilities that no-one has really told her about, and as far as she knows, the only way to keep herself from being killed, like her mum, is to maintain a low profile and move around a lot. It’s that, or allow herself to be sent to a private school for girls like her – an idea that she is as resistant to as she is the thought of being killed by a Vyken.

One of the things I loved about this book is that while Llona is cool – she does have these unique powers – she has very little idea about how to use them. She is an untapped talent, and unlike in a million other YA novels, she is not fabulous at what she does. She is untrained, unskilled and blundering through the world. She hides information from people that she should trust, and misinterprets some of the strange things that go on in her life. Llona is by no means perfect, but she doesn’t wallow in that fact – she gets on with things and is doing her best to make the most of the situation.

I think if I had one not so great thing to say about this book is that I had the ‘bad guy’ picked from quite early on. There were moments when I wondered if maybe I had it wrong, but I was pretty firm on who I thought it was – it would have been nice if Llona had figured it out earlier, but she did have a lot going on!

There was plenty of personal growth in all the important characters, and I think there was a nice balance between big issues, and smaller issues in the book, it helped to keep it real. This is a really easy read, and I think anyone who is into the genre will enjoy it. I know that I’ll definitely be checking out the second one. I’m eager to know what happens next and how Llona works on developing her skills. It should be good!

If you want to check out the other stops in this tour, head over here. And for the official website of the book, here.

2 thoughts on “Fractured Light Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Fractured Light

Leave a Reply

