Comfort reading

My kids have been down with a tummy bug this last week, which has been draining for everyone. I’ve had very little energy left for anything but the bare necessities. However, I was still reading, because it’s a way to escape the scent of vomit and the gross reality of the state of my household (conjure up images of washing piled up in the laundry, dishes piled up at the sink, and a floor that hasn’t been vacuumed in 5 days).

I don’t want to read just anything, though. I want comfort reads. I want something easy on the mind, something light weight. Something I can pick up and put down quickly.

This time around I’m finding that Janet Evanovich and her Stephanie Plum series is just the thing – good for a few laughs, doesn’t require huge amounts of brain activity, but interesting enough to keep me coming back for more. My brain really can’t handle anything more taxing than this right now, and it has highlighted for me that there really is a book for every occasion.

We don’t always want to read heavy, intellectual books. We don’t always want to read light-weight ones, either.

What books (or authors) do you turn to when you’re not feeling so great, when you need a little comfort reading? I’d love to hear what your fix is.

9 thoughts on “Comfort reading

  1. I don’t know that I have a favorite “comfort” read, but I had to tell you–I laughed out loud at the idea of “reading to escape the smell of vomit.” I’m sorry. From one mom to another, I totally get that. When my four get tummy bugs, they fall like dominoes. I have spent many days and nights as Our Lady of Perpetual Laundry. At least now they’re old enough to (mostly) make it to the toilet or pan before it all comes up….

    Here’s to everyone feeling better soon!

    Amy

    • lol, so glad someone else gets that πŸ˜‰ I’m very much looking forward to the day they are all old enough to vomit some place other than down my front, back, or in my lap πŸ˜‰

    • Oh! I keep meaning to chase down the rest of that series by Anne Bishop! I read the first one ages ago, and loved it, but then I think life happened (re: a wedding, pregnancy, babies, buying a house, renovations). I keep looking at the first book, sitting on my book shelf and trying to remember. I shall go now and look for them! Thanks for stopping by, Sonia πŸ™‚

      • They are one of my favorite series. Babies put a cramp on anything not baby friendly – reading, movies, other fun stuff.

  2. I recently plowed through the Plum series, they were exactly as you said: a light, fun, quirky read that didn’t take much brains to get through it. Which is exactly what I needed at that time. Tons of laughs.

    But yeah, I’m not sure I have a set comfort read? In general, it’s the lighter stuff, though most romances will do there for me too. I want something happy, or at least with a guaranteed happy ending. I definitely save my epic fantasies or emotionally draining books for when I’m feeling stronger.

    • I should probably have said, ‘what author’ now that I think about it. (might go and amend that…). Glad you found the Stephanie Plum books entertaining too – sometimes it’s exactly what you need πŸ™‚ Happy endings, generally up beat books are great for when you are feeling a bit low and need a boost.

Leave a Reply

