How do you read? Series

As I power through the Stephanie Plum series, I started thinking that this is the way to do it. Ah yes. One book after the other, enjoying the wider picture from start to finish. Though I have no idea if the series is finished yet. It just appeals to me, this back to back book-fest.

It made me wonder – am I the only one who likes it this way?

I do remember a day when I used to read each book as it came out. I’d wait, and wait, agonizing as the months rolled past, until finally the latest installment was in store. I’d rush out to grab it, devour it over the course of a few days and then be back to waiting.

There is something to be said for that. There is a certain sick twisted pleasure in all that waiting around. Long months agonizing over what might happen next. Providing the series is solid, you’re often rewarded for all that patience, but there is always more waiting.

Maybe it’s something to do with getting older that means I don’t have the desire for that any more. Maybe books aren’t the same as they used to be, not as able to capture my attention and hold that want until the next book comes out – because if I am honest, a lot of the time even if I really want to read the next in the series, I often forget about it until much later. There are just SO many books to read these days, I don’t have to get all impatient and fidgety waiting for something specific to come out because there is always something else I could be reading.

So I have to confess I really like discovering a series after everyone else has done with it. Once the hype has worn away and it’s complete. I can pick up one book after the other and follow it through to the end without all that angst and impatience building up inside me.

What about you? How do you like to read a series?

Leave a Reply

