Phoenix Rising – Corset Busting Fun

Title: PhoenixRising:  A Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences Novel

Authors:  Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris

Publisher:  Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062049763

Evil is most assuredly afoot—and Britain’s fate rests in the hands of an alluring renegade . . . and a librarian.

I am new to Steam Punk, and I have to admit, this is the first Steam Punk novel I have read.  And I loved it.

Why?  Because it has a strong female character who happens to be from New Zealand.  Well there were other reasons as well, but this was what really hooked me.  That and the opening of the story.

I could hear every nuance and inflection in the accents and Wellington Books and Eliza Braun came to life in my own mind, running rampant riot across Victorian London and beyond.  Each flick of the cane, adjustment of corsets, or cravat, I could see their mannerisms and made this story very real for me.

I liked the way the book flowed and I didn’t find any lull in the story between chapters, and the action from the start went right throughout the story to the thrilling excitement at the end.

Another thing I appreciated was that my intelligence wasn’t insulted by minute details given to every strange device written into the story.  While I have a basic understanding of what steam punk is, it was nice to be able to use my own imagination to fill in the blanks, and as I kept reading, my own imagination was justified.  Nice to know I am on the same wavelength as the writers!

Like Wellington Books, I found the steam powered contraptions very intriguing, and I honestly can’t wait to read more of their adventures, because no doubt, there will be more adventures!

Don’t just take my word for it, check out JC’s review here.

Four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

