Break Out – Nina Croft

Irreverent. Irresponsible. Insatiable. Who says immortals can’t have any fun? 

The year is 3048, Earth is no longer habitable, and man has fled to the stars where they’ve discovered the secret of immortality—Meridian. Unfortunately, the radioactive mineral is exorbitantly expensive and only available to a select few. A new class comprised of the super rich and immortal soon evolves. The Collective, as they’re called, rule the universe. 

Two-thousand-year-old Ricardo Sanchez, vampire and rogue pilot of the space cruiser, El Cazador, can’t resist two things: gorgeous women and impossible jobs. When beautiful Skylar Rossaria approaches him to break a prisoner out of the Collective’s maximum security prison on Trakis One, Rico jumps at the chance. Being hunted by the Collective has never been so dangerous–or so fun!

I picked up this novella not long after I finished reading Ward Against Death, as the publisher had a special on it. I find it hard to resist specials and was interested to see what else Entangled were offering.

I did my ‘vampire’ thing back in my teens, and have pretty much avoided anything with a vampire in it for much of the last decade, luckily for me, this is not like any other vampire book I’ve read! I mean, for starters, it’s set way in the future and he’s in space!

The novella kicks off in an excellent place – Rico is on the run and you wonder what he’s gotten himself into. I instantly felt hooked, as I was curious about the situation, and enjoyed the action. In fact, the whole book is pretty action packed, though not all of that action is the shoot ’em up kind, some of it happens in the bedroom 😉

The female lead is played by Skylar, a beautiful, intriguing woman who Rico can’t resist. She is shrouded in mystery and throughout the story the reader knows that something is off, but it’s never fully revealed. I really appreciated this, as the lies seemed like they could contain elements of truth, and Rico has his suspicions, but none of them are fully verbalized until the big reveal near the end when it all comes together.

The secondary characters were interesting as well, it’s a hodge-podge crew, some of whom have their own secrets. I’m very curious to see how the next book plays out. I really enjoyed the world that Croft has built here, and would love to learn more about things like the Collective, and the church in future books. There is a lot of gold there, and it would be a shame not to give us more of that.

This novella packs a punch, I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would! I think I am becoming a fan of ‘romance’ in space, in particular where there is actually a solid story line in the pilots seat. It was a really fun read, and I breezed through it in no time. I enjoyed it so much, that I will definitely be checking out the next book in the series – thankfully, the wait isn’t too long as I see it’s due out in October.

If you like romance, action and books set in space, then this is a fun read that I would recommend checking out.

Leave a Reply

