Dead Bad Things – Gary McMahon

HE SOUGHT TO FLEE HIS TRAGIC PAST, but when Thomas Usher hears a clockwork voice on the phone, and sees ever-more disturbing visions in a derelict warehouse, Usher realizes that he has to return home – for the sake of his own sanity.

Meanwhile, a deadly figure from Usher’s past threatens to undermine the very fabric of reality.

My goodness. This book. If I had a list of top five things that have creeped me out this year, this would be on it.

The writing is good for the most part, the story broken into three lines – at times I wondered how they would ever meet up, but they did, and in a way I hadn’t predicted.

I hadn’t read the first book in the series (though I will be going back and doing so, now!), so I was a bit behind the eight ball when it came to the story so far. I think it might have helped, but I enjoyed it a lot regardless.

Don’t read this if you don’t like to be scared though. Just walk away now and don’t look back. Consider yourself warned. Personally, I love to be freaked out, so it’s right up my alley!

As I was working my way through it, I’d often read before bed, and any time I had to get up for a drink or whatever I would switch on every light in every room. I would keep my back to the wall. I would avoid looking in mirrors, or any reflective surface, keeping my eyes averted from windows and picture frames. And then I would bolt back to bed, barely stopping to switch the lights off as I went. My husband would ask ‘what are you doing?’ to which I’d simply shiver and shake my head at him. He didn’t want to know. I couldn’t explain it to him in just a few words, other than perhaps ‘Good book! CREEPY!’.

If you like the creepy, if you like the dead and the bad, then this thing, this book, is certainly one you should look into. I’m going to be keeping my eye on Gary McMahon, and the next time I want my skin to crawl, I’m going to be picking up a book of his.

Leave a Reply

