Jeffrey Archer – Cat o’Nine Tales

Published 2006 by McMillan (Pan McMillan Ltd)

ISBN 13 9781405032575 HB

Cat O’Nine Tales is the fifth collection of irresistible short storeis from the master storyteller.  These yarns are ingeniously plotted, with richly drawn characters and deliciously unexpected conclusions and with the added bonus of illustrations by the internationally acclaimed artist, Richard Searle.

I like Jeffrey Archer.  He can spin a yarn and make it quite believable.  What I liked about these stories were that they were a collection of tales that he heard while on the inside (in prison) so relate, in some way to crime and punishment.  There are only three stories which he didn’t hear in prison, but fit in well with the rest of the tales.

Like most of Lord Archer’s stories, these are told rather than shown, but that doesn’t take away from the essence of the tales and their morals, which is mostly that you can’t bring a good crook down.  There are tales of innocence, murder, swindling, cheating and big companies, but all are about the human being who makes mistakes.  Some are on purpose, others are… well just plain criminal!

If you enjoy a collection of amusing short stories, you will like Jeffrey Archers short stories.

4 out of 5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s