The Restorer – Amanda Stevens (Review #2)

Release Date: 26th April, 2011

Released By: Harlequin, MIRA imprint

Synopsis:

My name is Amelia Gray. I’m a cemetery restorer who sees ghosts. In order to protect myself from the parasitic nature of the dead, I’ve always held fast to the rules passed down from my father. But now a haunted police detective has entered my world and everything is changing, including the rules that have always kept me safe.

It started with the discovery of a young woman’s brutalized body in an oldCharlestongraveyard I’ve been hired to restore. The clues to the killer—and to his other victims—lie in the headstone symbolism that only I can interpret. Devlin needs my help, but his ghosts shadow his every move, feeding off his warmth, sustaining their presence with his energy. To warn him would be to invite them into my life. I’ve vowed to keep my distance, but the pull of his magnetism grows ever stronger even as the symbols lead me closer to the killer and to the gossamer veil that separates this world from the next.

My thoughts:

Wow. It has been a really long time since I have read a book that is so gripping, creepy, and enthralling. Amanda Stevens did an incredible job at melding all these different aspects together into a well-rounded novel. The main character, Amelia Gray, has a bit of an issue with seeing ghosts, but there are four rules surrounding this ability that she abides by to live a peaceful life.

I absolutely loved Amelia’s character. She knows right from wrong, she trusts her instincts, and she knows her limits. I could really relate to this character, because she is so passionate about what she does, almost to the point that it’s solely for the sheer love of it. I never would have thought that restoring cemetery’s as a fascinating career path, but I can honestly see how at peace she feels when she is in amongst the graves.  She also develops a connection to Devlin, the cop investigating the murders that Amelia is advising on. The majority of women can definitely relate to how it feels when you meet someone new, and wanting to know everything about them. The fact that Devlin is haunted, should slap a big ‘DANGER’ sticker across him, but as Amelia becomes even more involved with him, that warning starts to seriously fade away, despite the rules that she lives by.

Each character in this book has their own secrets and stories to tell, and I loved the way that Amanda Stevens interrelated and weaved everything seamlessly together. The romantic notions could have been seriously banked on throughout this book, but I was more than impressed that the author didn’t do that. She stuck to the script, and fulfilled my expectations of a wonderful story. But, there is much more to this story, and to be honest – I did not want this to end. You can only imagine my delight when I found out that there are more books to this series The Graveyard Queen to come.

I would seriously recommend this book, whether you like thrillers, ghost stories, or even romance. Personally, I can’t wait to buy a hard copy, and place it proudly on my bookshelf. This is rated as a 5 star read.

This entry was posted in paranormal, thriller by Leigh K. Hunt. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leigh K. Hunt

Leigh K. Hunt considers herself a dreamer. She disappears into worlds created within her head, and every now and then she’ll re-enter the real world for a little while before delving back in again. Leigh writes for the love of writing, the creation of new worlds, and creating new characters that she eventually considers as her ‘internal friends’. Leigh has written a number of unpublished novels, and some short fiction. Leigh supports her passion for writing by working in the world of New Zealand Treaty Settlements. At home, she is based on the Kapiti Coast, in the lovely world of marriage and the motherhood of a baby girl, and a lonely oversized tomcat. For further information about Leigh, her writing, books, and writing advice - visit her website: http://leighkhunt.weebly.com

Leave a Reply

